Hi everyone,

I often judge (to harshly) myself as a stiff person and i have been trying several methods to become more flexible, on advice from flexible people (yeah, you just have to stretch, push it, don't mind the pain it will go away, maybe you're getting too old (i'm 46 now), you don't do it enough, don't mind the soreness, try this, try that etc).

I am a Pilates teacher and where i feel my advantage in some exercises when it comes to my already pre-tensed muscles (planking, holding static positions etc), i definetely feel  that i'm too stiff. I got a fairly good knowledge of how "the body works" - but since i subscripbed to this course, my eye-opener was definetely RELAXATION. I used to go to bed and feel ache in my legs from tension and i had no clue on how to relax them and that that would be possible. It's still difficult for me to do, some muscles in my body are to eager to stay awake late at night when the rest of us want to go to sleep ;). Anyway, this relaxation part is so important to me - even if i am a fairly calm and relaxed person (on the outside), i now understand that i probably keep much tension inside (anger, sadness...life - whatever emotion or struggle). I'm sure i'm not alone, but this is hard for people to admit, i guess. 

Anyway, I startet this course a couple of weeks ago, and i have been doing the exercises around every third day, or more. I feel a huge benefit of the hamstring stretches, they are more relaxed and less aching. My questions are about the hamstring-quads AND the backbend: