Aiya

Working with bulky, tense, strong bodies that don't track sensation

I'm a new Stretch Therapy Teacher in the US and have a student / private client who wants to stretch, but is large/bulky, very strong, and EXTREMELY tense. "Relax" doesn't seem to register in his system and he's reporting that he's not feeling much of a stretch in most poses because he runs into a movement "wall" before he feels a stretch. He has difficulty sitting on the floor (extremely tight outer hips, hamstrings) and cannot bring his knees together with feet on the floor while sitting on the floor. He's in his early-mid 40s and practices ju-jitsu.

Challenges with ST poses (examples):

• Soleus stretch holding onto a rig didn't bring a stretching sensation - only discomfort with the pose
  • Bringing knees to parallel while sitting on floor with feet on floor isn't possible
  • Not feeling sensation with C-curve spinal flexion
  • Body too tight to feel small changes in a twist

Because of all this, we've scheduled a private to modify stretches for him. He wants to focus on hip flexors, piriformis, calves, achilles, and spinal extension). Because he cannot comfortably sit on the floor, I'd like to use a chair as a prop for daily 5 and as many other stretches as possible until the floor is a reasonable place to work. I believe his core challenge is not being able to track body sensations due to excessive tension / belief that feeling the body is only feeling discomfort, but I'm not sure I'll get traction starting in that place with him.

Can you advise on two things:

1. Where would you start / recommended mods for him?

2. Success you've had in getting clients who can't access body sensations to move that direction? (I will, of course, recommend relaxation scripts)

Thank you in advance!

Aiya 

Hi Aiya,

Welcome to the forums!

3 hours ago, Aiya said:

he's not feeling much of a stretch in most poses because he runs into a movement "wall" before he feels a stretch